PSREI History

In 1984, the POGS formed an Ad Hoc Committee on Infertility with Drs. Florante P. Gonzaga, Leonardo A. Almeda, Delfin A. Tan, Rosalinda B. Arceo and Amelia P. Roa as members. This group put together their ideas and published a Handbook of Infertility. At this time, Dr. Trinidad Vera was invited to the group and ultrasonography became a part of the subspecialty.

In 1992, the Committee on Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility of the POGS pusblished a book entitled “Practical Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility,” Dr. Delfin Tan was the chairman of the committee and was Editor-in-chief of the book. In 1994, the Philippine Society of Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, Inc. was formed with 38 founding members. The main objective of the Society is to improve the quality of training and practice in reproductive medicine and surgery. The initial set of officers were:

        •       Dr. Florante P. Gonzaga, Founding President
        •       Dr. Leonardo A. Almeda, Vice-President
        •       Dr. Rosalinda B. Arceo, Secretary
        •       Dr. Lilia P. Luna, Treasurer
        •       Dr. Amelia P. Roa, P.R.O.

Presently the PSREI is a subspecialty society of the POGS with 114 active members.